top of page
Search

learning your self-worth

Updated: Sep 10, 2020

What is self-worth?

The questions we would all love the answers too, right?!

Well you have come to the right place! I am no expert in the area but I do however have a lot of self-worth and I want to share with you, what helped me get to love and value the person I am today!


The ideas and knowledge I am going to share with you has been through the grace of many others, applying these ideas has been what has made my journey a successful one.


You might not be ready or in a place to take action on what I am writing and that is ok, I am only here to sew the seeds of hope for you to water and nurture when you are ready.

Before you read on, I want you to think about and write down your idea of self worth.


When I think of "Self-worth" the words value, worth and respect pop into my head because, and listen carefully here.... If you have a sense of self-worth, it means that you value yourself and valuing yourself means that you understand that you are worthy and I believe self-worth is a feeling that you are a good person who deserves to be treated with respect.


To me, this is the outline of self-worth.. now lets break it down.


Why is self-worth important?


This is a huge subject and I could give you a million different reasons as to why self worth is important but to keep it simple - I strongly believe that knowing your self-worth is absolutely vital to your happiness and well being because when you're not feeling good about yourself, most of the time it's hard to feel good about anything else so as Robert Morley once said "to fall in love with yourself is the first secret to happiness."


"A women who knows what she brings to the to the table is not afraid to eat alone."
-Unknown




How do I get self worth?

First things first, finding your self worth and believing in your self worth takes practice and you must take the time to build your self worth but it is a journey well worth jumping on.


I wish building your self worth was simple and as easy as repeating to yourself that you love yourself over and over but unfortunately its not, in saying that I truly believe in speaking to yourself kindly and practicing self love however I believe the reality is, that if we want to love ourselves we have to do something that is worthy of that love, something that we believe in and something that builds the credibility with our self, we need to tell our self that we are going to do something and know that we're are actually going to see it through.


We are constantly watching ourselves and the reality is we judge ourselves and we think about whether or not we are following through on the things we said we are going to do which is why I believe in the importance of setting realistic goals to be able to achieve them and its ok to start small, its ok not to have a grand plan, and its especially ok not to be extraordinary, you don't need that to love yourself, but what you do need is purpose, I think what we should be doing it taking the time to define what it is that we are trying to achieve, think about this..


Why do you matter? what are you able to bring to the table? what is it that you're going to be able to bring to yourself? none of this has to be huge but it does have to be real and it does have to be what you believe in, make it something that you're are willing to commit to and then, once you're wiling to commit, get up and put your energy into it, pursue that damn thing!

I really want to reiterate - none of this is for me, I am not judging you, I would love so much for it to be enough that you just exist but I know that is not how our heads work and I know we all have a little friend in our head telling us that it is not enough to just exist so what we need to do is find that meaning and to create the meaning in our lives and to do so I believe we need to set an intention and then like I have been saying above we have to pursue that intention.


So lets set that intention!


Tips

  • Start small, think realistic and achievable.

  • Know what you want, in your head think about the outcome.

  • Get out of bed.

  • Set rules, these are completely up to you!

  • Follow your rules.

Once you start following these simple steps and building towards that intention suddenly you're are going to earn that credibility with yourself and eventually no matter what any says to you, you will be impervious to that because you have built your self belief, belief that you are worthy because you take small steps every day to do something that means something to you. They will talk, there will be haters and they will say negative things but it doesnt matter what they think, what matters is what you think so every day get up follow your rules and keep earning that worth.


“Once you embrace your value, talents and strengths, it neutralizes when others think less of you.”
– Rob Liano

I have loved writing this blog and I hope it can be a start to your journey on the self worth train! Please don't hesitate to get in contact me if you want to ever chat, I love meeting and talking with you all!


Peace & Love





49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page